In 1928, V.D. Vincent and his wife began serving special dinners at their then “country
cottage” in Northern Marion County. The beautiful hollyhocks that grew on the grounds
gave way to the restaurants name, which it has retained ever since. The restaurants
original dining area was both small and intimate, seating up to 30 guests. Aside
from a few intermittent periods during World War II, the Vincent’s operated Hollyhock
Hill for nearly 20 years.
In mid 1947, Hubert “Hugh” Kelso purchased the restaurant that had grown to accommodate
up to 70 guests with the cost for a complete dinner being nearly $3.00. Mr. Kelso’s
forty year ownership of the restaurant led to numerous structural enhancement, fueling
continued growth. He was active in the Indiana Restaurant Association (IRA), serving
as Chairperson and inducted into the IRA Hall of Fame.
In 1992, ownership of the now 150 seat Indianapolis landmark was turned over to longtime
employees, Jay & Barbara Snyder. For over fifty years, The Snyder’s have worked
side-by-side to maintain and grow this dining institution - ushering in innovation,
balanced with tradition - constantly focused on customer satisfaction. They are proud
and deserving custodians of the Hollyhock Hill tradition, remaining active in the
day-to-day management of the restaurant and enjoying their seven grandchildren.
While various innovations and advancements have been incorporated into the restaurants’
operation; many original recipes, techniques and philosophies remain in place. Today,
Hollyhock Hill remains as one of a very few “family-style” restaurants still in existence
in the USA, serving patrons from all 50 states and numerous foreign countries. Hollyhock
Hill’s rich history and longstanding commitment to excellence will no doubt pave
the way toward its continued success, well into the future.